Rio, Chellsie, Russian Juniors, and Other Tidbits


I have been trying to get back into blogging.  I think about it all the time, but quite frankly graduate school is kicking my ass at the moment.

So Rio won the 2016 Olympic bid.  I have family near Chicago and really wanted an Olympic Games in my backyard.

Chellsie Memmel announced her withdrawal from the Worlds Selection.  WHY?  She was rumored to have a 6.7 D score on bars.  Damn it.  I just love Chellsie Memmel and want to see her with as many medals as possible!  She also supposedly had all her skills back on beam….which wouldn’t surprise me anyway.  Sigh, as much as I don’t want to wait, Chellsie is STILL VERY VALUABLE to team USA as long as she’s got bars.  Weird that our once strongest event is now our weakest….

Wuth Memmel’s announcement I am now sure of 3/4 Worlds Team members; Bridget Sloan, Rebecca Bross, and Ivana Hong.  Sloan and Bross will do AA, And Hong will do all but vault.  I see the last spot to go to Kayla Williams for vault only, OR Kytra Hunter (who I would prefer and who will be on UF’s gymnastic team in 2010!) who could possibly take away Ivana’s floor spot.  Either way I don’t think it matters; Bross and Sloan with clean performances will both advance to FX finals.  let’s look these girls possibilities:

Bridget Sloan-  definitely could win AA, has a good chance for UB and FX finals.  UB I don’t even think she will medal (and that’s if she advances) but FX on the other hand I think she could actually win gold on.  ESPECIALLY if she throws the rumored triple front twist.  I think she should, her Randi looked over rotated at Nationals.

Rebecca Bross-  Gymnastically, Bross is my favorite right now.  I love her ‘WOGA arms”, the way she hooks her hand as she goes into round off, and all her beam correography at the beginning to the standing arabian always gets me.  I think some of it needs to be improved on floor, but I love her National Teasure Suite, her bars, etc. etc. etc.  What I DON’T love about Bross is the fact that she is a Wogette.  I can’t have WOGA producing 3 Olympic champs straight; they will rule to the world.  No. No, no, no.  But I still root for her. She has the potential to make UB, BB, and FX finals though I think her only shot of a medal is FX.

Ivana Hong- Has a shot at a beam medal.  That’s about it.  I LOVE her on beam.  She has the prettiest Onodi.  Other than her turn, her switch leap needing a bit of work, and the low chest on the dismount, Ivana’s E score should be good, and a 6 or 6.1 D score is pretty solid.  Unfortunately Deng Linlin has a 6.7 and with a clean routine I think will hands down be the gold medalist.  Watch Deng’s current beam routine here

Kayla and Kytra battle it out mostly through vault.  Whomever has TWO vaults goes.  Rumor is that Kayla has a DTY and a Rudi.  I think she has the edge.  I really would like to see Kytra as a backup floor person in case Bross or Sloan waivers, I love her piked double arabian front.

I will post Worlds Predictions soon.

And my current hope is that for this quad, is Russia is coming back?  I want to see them be gold medal contenders by London 2012.  Aliya Mustafina and Viktoria Komova have both stolen my heart.  They are BAD ASS juniors.  I think they will be eligible in 2011?  God, I hope its next year…..I need to look up that information.  Also, Tatiana Nabieva interests me vault and bars-wise.  Komova and Mustfina could be in the running for the AA podium this worlds had they been eligible…..

That’s it for now.  Time to go slave some more over school.

Ahhhh, I have missed my blog!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

