Daily Archives: March 25, 2008

Why Cheng Fei Rocks

Cheng Fei As hoping to high hell that Shawn Johnson wins the AA in Beijing, I will also be hoping in the same manner that Cheng Fei takes home the vault gold medal. I may be mistaken, but I believe for the entire quad Cheng Fei has remained undefeated on vault. Either way, who else has won the same world title each WC throughout the quad? Especially in this day and age?

Cheng Fei supplied a heartbreaking moment in the Athens floor final. I couldn’t believe her score as well. It almost looks as if she steps out of bounds twice. After she steps out, she strikes a pose on one knee and her foot is over the line. I can’t find any evidence that suggests that she was penalized for 2 out of bounds. I have heard that she botched some dance combos or something. That is all pish posh to me. Cheng Fei rocks.

I also want for Cheng Fei to take home a medal on floor. I can’t make up my mind weather I want her or Shawn Johnson to bring home the gold on that one. Of course I also want medals for Alicia Sacramone and Daiane Dos Santos. Of course, granted Sacramone ups her difficulty a bit and Dos Santos is throwing some of her bad assery in the event.

Sigh, I can’t wait for August.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

First Gymnastics post. Why Shawn is my favorite.

First off, I have a sentimental reason for loving Shawn. The first (and only as of yet) elite competition I have gone to was the American Cup 2007. As we know, also Shawn’s senior debut. It is so very awesome to me that I got to view her firstvictory.

I knew very little of her before I saw anything, I had watched a couple of videos on youtube, but I knew her 06′ Nationals score would have won over the seniors. I was looking forward to see her, but was NOT prepared for what I saw 🙂

Shawn in Gator Colors

When she threw her dismount I jumped up and screamed and almost burst into tears, it was that pure of a moment for me. (For the record, I LOVE crying when I watch competitions, there are moments in my 100 DVD’s of broadcasts in which I still tear up when I see certain parts that tug at the heart). I can also remember the moment while watching her on floor that I thought, ‘OMG! She is it! The gymnast that I have been waiting for!’

I favor gymnastics that are high skill level with clean form. Well, despite what I hear (and do see) about her split leaps, I think her form is beautiful. What other gymnast has three “G” valued skills? One on each apparatus (minus vault of course, but she is capable of doing one of the hardest). And as far as her form goes, those legs are always GLUED together. Even Nastia the great, (and I am not bashing her) has leg separations on bars.

But you know what I love most of all? I love her attitude. It is soooo refreshing. She enjoys what she does and it seems to rare to witness happiness in today’s gymnasts. Her answers to questions are also refreshing. At the AA ceremony in Germany (which can totally be seen on WCSN, haven’t looked on youtube for it) she is asked if she ever expected to become World Champion and her reply is, “I never expected to go elite!” So much different than the typical, “It’s a dream come true,” answer.

I say the attitude thing because whereas I love Carly’s gymnastics so much, I did not care much for her attitude. It bothered me.

So needless to say, I want Shawn to win the AA soooooo bad. I also want a gold for her on beam and floor, though as long as she gets medals on those I will be fine. Besides, I also want Cheng Fei to win floor too and they can’t both win. (Doesn’t the Olympics break the ties now?) My next gush will be why Cheng Fei is my other favorite gymnast. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized